Time Out!

Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. (Matthew 11:28)

It’s been three months since my last post! Hard to believe. I went through six months of chemo treatments with little discomfort or anxiety, like super woman or something. About one week after being told I’m in remission, I crashed…mentally, physically, emotionally. I was done.

Apparently, my system had had enough, and that’s totally normal. I couldn’t do much, other than sleep and eat. To make matters worse, I didn’t really care. Sure I wanted to do something, feel productive in some way. But honestly, I didn’t have the energy to care enough to move my body from the couch or to form coherent thoughts. People told me it was part of the healing process and I should relax and allow my body time to heal. So I did right through Christmas shopping, baking, and decorating … guilt free. It’ll be a Christmas easily forgotten. Not meaningless, just uneventful.

Yet, God arranged some pretty amazing treats for our family over the Holiday. We were able to go to an Aaron Shust concert, which was even more special because my older daughter went to college with him. He remembered her, making her super mom in her sons’ eyes (and even her mother’s) for the weekend. Our grandson was accepted into his two top-choice colleges. What a decision he has to make. But what a Christmas blessing. Among the normal Christmas goings-on, there were peace and joy that we rarely experience. Or maybe, we just don’t recognize them. I can’t explain it. I barely noticed it until just now while I was pondering the past month.

There are times we need to rest. Simply rest. Jesus provides that time when we fail to notice our need. He says sit by my side, breathe, trust, heal. That’s it. That’s what He wants us to do … sometimes.

How about you? When was the last time you basked in the Savior’s peace and joy?

See you in a twinkling,
Brenda K. Hendricks

7 thoughts on “Time Out!

  1. Thank you for sharing. When all efforts fail, the best thing we can do is to enjoy His presence. I’m doing just that as I wait for a job and a car. Blessings and complete healing for you in order for you to travel and teach the word of God and art classes. Don’t give up on your dreams..Just rest!!!

  2. So happy to see you writing again! I’m glad you felt God’s presence these past few months and I pray you will see His continual guidance and healing in the months to come. I’m learning to seek His peace and joy – it’s an ongoing struggle some days for me. But I know He is with me. It’s just up to me to acknowledge His presence.

    • Seeking and experiencing God’s peace and joy are ongoing struggle indeed. It’s funny though when you’re least aware, they are there. I think many times we look to hard or expect something different than what it is … kinda like defining love.

  3. Thank you Brenda for your prayers. I’m learning to close my eyes while putting on worship songs. Then I ask the holy spirit to manifest His presence, I welcome His presence. I just ask him to fill the room with His presence. Then I wait. At times, I receive His overwhelming love rushing over me. Other times, he speaks to me through specific bible scriptures At times, He fills me with His presence or heal my heart or deliver me from something. Then, I fill peace and more energy. All that time, I don’t speak, I keep silent. I wait while saying inwardly, I let the holy spirit complete control over my thoughts and emotions. It does so much good. The longest I’ve done was 4 hours of bliss. You get used it to it with times. Then you get addicted to wait in His presence. Most times, people pray or worship. How many Christians just shut up and wait for the Lord to speak!!! Those who rest on the Lord shall renew their strength.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.